BP wins Energy Retailer of the Year at Deloitte Energy Excellence Awards

Achievement and excellence in the New Zealand energy sector was recognised last night at the Deloitte Energy Excellence Awards.

Chapman Tripp is pleased to congratulate BP, the winner of the Chapman Tripp Energy Retailer of the Year award. The judges said this was one of the hardest categories to judge, but it was BP’s exceptional performance above and beyond its own sector that set it apart.

Chairman of the Judging Panel, Richard Westlake, says that the calibre of this year’s entries was very high.

“The judging panel has been in the privileged position of seeing the work of New Zealand’s best energy businesses and learning of their successes,” he says.

“It was a real challenge to select finalists and ultimately winners from the diversity and high quality of entries."

The Minister of Energy and Resources, Hon Simon Bridges, was the guest of honour and keynote speaker at the event. The minister congratulated all the winners and finalists.

"The people, the businesses and what we are doing make this one of the most exciting industries that there is," he says.

The black-tie event at the Langham Hotel was attended by over 630 guests from within the energy sector, across the electricity, gas and petroleum disciplines.

The Energy Excellence Awards are run annually by Freeman Media, publisher of online news and information service Energy News.

Chapman Tripp congratulates all of the 2013 award winners

Innovation in Electricity Award

Counties Power – The PAL-GPR System – a fast, accurate and economic precise all-terrain location system

Energy Project of the Year

Contact Energy – The Wairakei Bioreactor – a world first

Excellence in Health & Safety Award

Contact Energy – Building a zero harm culture

Environmental Excellence Award

Contact Energy – The Wairakei Bioreactor – a world first

Young Energy Executive of the Year

Karen Frew – Powerco

Energy Executive of the Year

Rob Jager – Shell New Zealand

Lines Company of the Year


Energy Retailer of the Year


Overall Energy Company of the Year


Editor’s Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Sector

Bob Thomson


Print this article

Related topics: Energy & natural resources; Chapman Tripp announcements


Related Services




Energy & natural resources

Related Sectors





News & Publications