Powershop wins Energy Retailer of the Year at Deloitte Energy Excellence Awards

Achievement and excellence in the New Zealand energy sector was recognised last night at the Deloitte Energy Excellence Awards, held in Auckland.

Chapman Tripp is pleased to congratulate Powershop, the winners of the Chapman Tripp Energy Retailer of the Year award for their consecutive years of performance and growth.

Chairman of the Judging Panel, Peter Griffiths, says that the calibre of this year’s entries was very high. "The judging panel has been in the privileged position of seeing the work of New Zealand’s best energy businesses and learning of their successes," he says. "It was a real challenge to select finalists and ultimately winners from the diversity and high quality of entries."

The Minister of Energy and Resources, Hon Phil Heatley, was the guest of honour and keynote speaker at the event. The minister congratulated all the winners and finalists. "Recognising those who achieve excellence in any field of industry is an important part of a successful country," he says.

The black-tie event at the Langham Hotel was attended by over 650 guests from within the energy sector, across the electricity, gas and petroleum disciplines.

The Energy Excellence Awards are run annually by Freeman Media, publisher of online news and information service Energy News.

Chapman Tripp congralulates all of the 2012 award winners

Innovation in Electricity Award

Mighty River Power – Glo-Bug

Energy Project of the Year

Shell Todd Oil Services – Extending the life of an energy giant – Maui

Excellence in Health & Safety Award

Orion – Health and safety during emergency response

Environmental Excellence Award

Transpower Alliance – Environmental excellence down the wires

Young Energy Executive of the Year

Tony Sumner – Meridian Energy

Energy Executive of the Year

Doug Heffernan – Mighty River Power

Lines Company of the Year

Top Energy

Energy Retailer of the Year


Overall Energy Company of the Year

Mighty River Power

Editor’s award for outstanding contribution to the sector

Sir John Todd

The winning Powershop team with Chapman Tripp Partner Stephen Lowe.

Print this article

Related topics: Energy & natural resources; Chapman Tripp announcements


Related Services




Energy & natural resources

Related Sectors





News & Publications